Artist Report: Teresa Feldmann

Text by Teresa Feldmann6pages
Handwriting by Emm (Nairobi, Kenya)

Handwritten by Emm through Freelancer, this report features black text for the main content and personal comments in red.

Text by Teresa Feldmann

Handwriting by Emm from Nairobi, Kenya 🇰🇪

  • Please tell us where you live (city, country), and your occupation

    I live in Nairobi, Kenya. I’m a freelance Copywriter

  • How would you use the gratitude you earn out of this work?

    To give myself a treat and put some amount in other projects I’m currently running.

  • How did you feel about reading the text you're assigned? Is there anything you (un)learned after re-writing it?

    I must say it’s an interesting piece. I like the idea of sharing your Covid-19 experience through Instagram stories.

  • Is there any change in your work and/or life during this continuing pandemic?

    Yes, quite a lot. I’ve actually decided to be a full-time freelancer ever since the pandemic hit really hard.

  • Have you had any new discoveries or encounters as a result of the pandemic? If yes, what are they?

    Yes, remote work. I’ve actually realized that I can work for international companies remotely, which makes work life much more interesting.

  • Have you ever felt you were imposed to follow any rule (and you don't want to follow) in your society? If yes, what and when was it?


  • During the residency with Seira and Teresa, we also spent some time thinking about how "patriarchy" in Japan and The Netherlands is considered. How is "patriarchy" considered or discussed in where you live (or your country)?

    In my country, male will always dominate when it comes to power and this also applies to families.

  • Similarly, how is "feminism" considered or discussed in where you live (or your country)?

    Well, there’s a move to ensure equal opportunities for both men and women in different aspects of life, like education, career, leadership, etc. At least in the national government, we now have Women Representatives to represent the interest of every woman in my country.

  • What does "home" mean to you? Can you consider someone who is not blood-related but still as your "family"?

    Yes, I believe in bonds created through knowing someone deeply. A friend can turn out to be closer than a relative. Home is anywhere I feel at peace and loved.

  • What are your (unpaid) care responsibilities at home or at work in your society as a whole? What is your first impression when you hear the word "care" (to give a hand to someone, to have sympathy)?

    Care to me means to have empathy. Unpaid care at home to me would me something like baby-sitting, doing house chores, making people feel at home and cared for, etc.